top of page
Search
  • Lily Walbeoffe

Selftape… Let’s do this Lily!

An unabridged transcription of my train of thought throughout the selftape process

Okaaaay, so I’ve just been emailed the script. 8 pages long with 3 individual scenes. I can do this, I’ll LEARN it as I go. Not learning it would make me feel super unprofessional. I once spoke to a casting director who said if the script isn’t learnt, it shows that the tape or audition clearly wasn’t a priority for the actor. So I guess I’m going to have to jam it into my brain as soon as possible. It is doable, and simply playing with different takes and learning it through doing it makes things a lot easier. The deadline is still a healthy few days away, but in my experience, doing it swiftly while also to the best of my ability shows a keenness and drive for the relevant project - so let’s get cooking!


Hmm, okay, LOCATION. I’ve tried and tested each potential wall in my house and it has only just struck me how overly decorated and crammed with art it is; wonderful in some respects, painfully unhelpful in others. I have found there to be only one wall contender. Alternatively, if on the road, or not in my humble abode, I have also sloppily ironed a white sheet and hung it as best I can in a moment of sheer desperation. It wasn't by any means perfect, but it was the best I could do with what I had to work with. A nice clean, white background, a blank slate which won’t pull any distraction from my mesmerising performance. 


So, now I’ve got the location, which KIT?! Maybe I should splash out on Arri Alexa?! Or is my camera on my phone up to the challenge? To be honest, I’ve learnt that if my lighting set-up is good enough, any smartphone will do the job. I don’t think casting directors are expecting me to actually make the film myself… are then? Nah, I’ll leave them to tackle the real kit. So, my phone will do, a few lights would be a great addition. Natural light is always preferable, but living in gloomy England, this is usually out of the question. Lights can even out shadows and really make my eyes sparkle. Maybe a ring light, or even a simple desk lamp that I can bend and manipulate into a specific direction. Now, how about a mic? That always sprinkles a little professionalism, and the audio is a lot more crisp, not echoing across the room. Just a little collar mic is handy. I’ve been through quite a few mics, some end up peaking too much, others, the quality just wasn’t good enough, but I got there in the end. My life before I owned a tripod was never dull, that’s for sure. Balancing my phone on all manner of random things. Stacking books, laundry baskets, even chairs. Using copious amounts of blu tac or sellotape, and hoping beyond measure that it never tumbled and smashed my screen. Although the challenge of “the perfect homemade tripod” was always a fun puzzle, purchasing a cheap tripod certainly sped the whole process up a lot. 


No one can claim actors are not resourceful. IMPROVISE. ADAPT. OVERCOME.


The perfect READER. This is one I struggle with a fair amount. Don’t have too many actor friends round my ends, and family is always out of the question. If I can’t find anyone, as an absolute last resort, I’ll have to record the other parts and splice them into the video when it comes to the edit. That’s always fun, leaving enough time for the other character’s lines and syncing everything up… But if I am lucky enough to have someone read with me, I’ll always opt for medium delivery. Acting is reacting after all, and I’ll have nothing to react to if the other character is either monosyllabic or having an absolute meltdown and stealing all my limelight :) and, remember your SIGHT-LINES Lily - unless the other character is moving around, your eyes are staying put. Don’t break the spell by letting your eyes dart off in all directions. Find a fixed spot and stick with it, yep, that little smudge mark on the wall is perfect. The eyes are the windows to the soul after all, so make sure they will be able to see them in the tape! If this means adjusting the height of the tripod or giving myself a little more light then I must make those adjustments!


A good WARM-UP is key. I know that I’m not overly expressive when I do my first few takes; sometimes I look like I’m still asleep or incredibly bored. So get those facial muscles working. Chew toffee, blow bubblegum, swirl mouthwash around your gums, use whatever imaginary foodstuff necessary to bring a bit of buzz and tingly energy. Trill those lips and scrunch up those eyes, I won’t regret that fun little bit of silliness once I see how flawless and genuine my reactions are on camera. 


Ah! One of my favourite little ingredients. Add one moment of PIZZAZ, something that will stick in their minds when they watch it. In the past, I’ve randomly taken a bite out of an apple, sneezed, unpacked shopping in-frame, or, when I was feeling really funky, turned a friend’s kitchen into an entire set. “That girl with the apple” sticks in someone’s mind more than “that girl without the apple”. But Lily, make sure that these moments are grounded in intention and integrity, no needless distractions, make sure it seamlessly melts into the story and character and don’t let it become grating or pointless. It’s all about the nuance....


The EDIT. So close yet so far. I’ve got all of the raw footage and audio, if only there were a really simple, and free way to edit these together that doesn’t include iMovie… *enter DaVinci Resolve*. What an absolute lifesaver for the average tech ignoramus. Not going to lie, it did take me a little while to learn my way around the software, but now I’m comfortable using it for what I need. It means I can ensure everything looks as slick as can be, not the hodgepodge affair I had going on when I started making selftapes. I can put in whatever little bits I need, a nice bit of text, a simple fade in and out, maybe even do a cheeky bit of grading if necessary.   


Now, how to get rid of that thing I just made and forget all about it, because let’s face it, 90% of the time, I’ll never hear back; #YesorNo am I right?! Which PLATFORM to use... Perhaps I’ll use the tried and tested WeTransfer. Or maybe I’ll upload a private video to either YouTube or Vimeo and send the producer a link? Either way, I hope my abysmal internet speed is up to the job. Let’s just give it three hours and hope it doesn’t cut out halfway through… It’s happened more times than is remotely funny. 


And it’s finally gone! Now the waiting game begins! Or does it? I actually find it a lot healthier and better for my anxious self to COMPLETELY FORGET that I just spent 4 hours of my life making something. But that’s the life of an actor Lily. Even if I never hear back from them, it was still a little splash of creative energy I used, and more often than not, I do feel inspired to get started on something else. There is always a sense of satisfaction once I’ve got the whole project wrapped up, now go and BREATHE, have a cup of tea and start the hunt for the next one!

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page