top of page
Search
  • Lily Walbeoffe

Finding positives in the murky waters of Self-representation



An agent.


Arguably the most important element for an actor's career and success. They help to get that oh-so-important foot through the door. But, are they as "make it or break it" as they are made out to be? This post is for anyone currently cruising on the solo journey. Let's find some positives in the murky waters of SELF-REPRESENTATION. Maybe you're feeling a little lost or blue about it; I certainly have my ups and downs. I’ve been working in the industry for two years representing myself so far, and it’s been a time full of lessons. Lessons which were crucial to my development as an actor. To survive in this industry, one relies on their ability to learn, adapt and grow, and I'd love to offer a few words on what I have picked up from my experience thus far.


I have a choice of projects:

With self-representation, it’s only me looking out for number one. Although I may not be on a first name basis with revered and respected casting directors, that does not mean I am unable to find myself work. I am vigilant with staying on top of Spotlight and Mandy applications, scouring social media for open casting calls or getting in touch with friends or acquaintances in the industry to see if there is anything groovy going on. Without an agent, it means I am able to decide and choose which work I genuinely really want to do. Work that aligns with my morals and artistic intentions. Having spoken to friend’s with agents, some have expressed annoyance at having to audition for a TIE project which they just really don’t want to do. Yes, we should all jump at the chance to work, but that doesn’t mean that we must jump on every single opportunity available to us, even if we have reservations about it? Absolutely not! For me, pantos, elf work and musicals will never be jobs that I engage with. And that's totally cool with me. In most cases, I’d like to think that agents always have their client's best interests at heart, but maybe sometimes the ideas of integrity and freedom of choice can get lost in the journey to find work? Through representing myself, I'm able to call all the shots.


I’m learning how to market myself:

As I do not have an agent, I have to be in control of all of my work. I am the first response when talking to employers, rather than my agent. This means it’s of the utmost importance for me to understand how to conduct myself in the most professional way, which questions to ask, and what the general procedures are. When I was first starting out, I felt as though I was fumbling in the dark a little, unsure of how to play it cool and behaving as though it was totally run of the mill stuff to me. “Yeah sure, I’ll shoot an invoice over to you later today” ... *Frantically searches the 9 legal requirements for a UK invoice*... Although it may have felt like a lot to be learning in a short space of time, and difficult to play it professional for a while, I think this stage of any actor’s career has a plethora of important lessons to be learned. It is the time where I have learnt how to market myself. To know how to recognise if a job is legitimate or not, or worth my time or not. Having worked on various student films, I do believe they are really crucial as they provide a testing ground on which everyone is learning, not just the students. After time, you begin to learn the different parameters; which headshots are the most eye-catching, how to write insightful applications, how to deal with the direct rejections yourself, rather than your agent helping to cushion the blow: "You didn't get that one sadly, BUT you've got an audition on Wednesday! How great!". Sitting in my room, reading the rejection email alone, as sad as it may be, I think it has really helped to thicken my skin.


It’s okay for me to explore other avenues:

Not having an agent affords me with a lot of freedom that I may otherwise not have. It means that if I want to throw myself into a different direction, I am free to do so. If I want to, for example, take a one way trip to travel around Europe for who-knows how long, that is completely fine (not that I can afford it, but it's good to know the choice is still there). If I were to have an agent, I know I would find it difficult to take time away from industry if I was feeling slightly disenfranchised. I’m sure some agents would see no issue with this, but personally, I would feel beholden to being 100% committed at all times once signed (this may not be everyone’s response but that’s just me folks). Once an agent gets you an audition, it can be noted as pretty poor form to miss it; you’re not taking things seriously enough, or jumping on the opportunities which are being found for you. This is in some ways a fair point. But sometimes I like having the space to breathe, space away from the constant hustling I do each and every day. As an actor I feel guilt stepping away from acting work for a little while - it certainly took me a while to start writing. I had to have a stern word with myself, even though it's something I love, something which inspires me and want to pursue more of. I feel as though anything that threatens to overshadow acting work, I have had a habit of writing-off before I've even begun. But other creative outlets are just as important to nourish ourselves and learn from. In the end, fostering those interests will absolutely contribute to my becoming a more well-rounded actor and afford me room to grow in other areas of my life.


I get that sweet sweet satisfaction:

One truly wonderful moment as a self-represented actor is the moment when I find out I have been cast in a role. Now this is absolutely the case across the board for all actors, with or without an agent. Securing a job is always cause for celebration. But! I do have to say, my ego does a little dance every time I find out the news, specifically for the fact that I have been the singular driving force behind securing that job, no agent has given me the metaphorical leg-up. It's relatively rare that I find reason to be genuinely and unashamedly proud of myself (maybe this is the insecure artists condition - I'll write an entire post on this soon I'm sure, so stick around for what I can guarantee will be an absolute laugh). On a technical point, it also means that any and all money I am paid for acting jobs is 100% mine. I don't have to give a cut of it away to my agent, and to me, that feels pretty sweet. So knowing that I have orchestrated the whole thing on my own, from application, to audition, to screen-test, to being cast, that exact feeling is hard to capture. Words feel redundant. It is a visceral and physical response I get when everything, finally, against all odds comes together, and I get the job. And knowing I did it all, that motivates me beyond anything else.


SO, I hope your soul feels a little lighter and more positive about the future after this read. I am genuinely really enjoying representing myself and don't know how soon I'll put all my efforts into securing an agent. On days where I feel down that I'm not finding the highest calibre jobs that I want, I just remember all this good juicy stuff, and things feel a little brighter :)

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page